“‘I’m looking forward to a federal jury trial,’ says Leonard Rowe, president of Atlanta-based Rowe Entertainment and one of the five black promoters filing the suit. ‘I’m happy because I want justice to prevail and I want a jury to hear what [the defendants] have done to us. No black promoters have been allowed to work with one white act, and white promoters work with all acts. How is it possible for us to reach the same prosperity as they do? I know for a fact I could explain this to a jury in terms they could understand, and I can’t wait to do it.'”

Although Republican appointed federal judge Robert P. Patterson refused to dismiss their complaint, he issued a 175 page decision five years later, which granted summary judgment in favor of William Morris, Creative Artists Agency and the other defendants despite there being “genuine issues of material fact”…

Source: Ray Waddel. “Black Promoters’ Suit Proceeds.” Billboard. pg. 1, 112. July 15, 2000.

Leave a comment